Welcome to UDSoL

The School of Law, located along Mkwajuni Road, at the A.B. Weston Building at the Mwalimu Julius Kambarage Nyerere Campus (University of Dar-es-Salaam) is the oldest legal training institute in the Eastern and Southern African region. The School (then Faculty of Law) was established on Wednesday, 25th October 1961, about three months before the independence of the then Tanganyika. It was meant to cater for the emerging newly independent States of East Africa, at that time comprising of Kenya, Uganda, Tanganyika and Zanzibar. This website provides a brief summary of the School, its current staff, history, academic and administrative structure and the courses it offers. It also provides memories, highlights and achievements of its staff

At inception, the School was affiliated to the University of London and followed its curriculum. Despite this affiliation, the School's focus in its curriculum was designed to cater for local situations that were in line with the aspiration of the newly independent States of the region. From inception, therefore, the School's role was principally focused on applied research out of necessity. It had to advise the government in the codification of customary law, integration of court systems and matters of constitution making. For almost three decades after inception, the School offered a three-year Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) degree and a Certificate in Law Programme. In October 1999, it started offering a four-year LL.B. program, and in 2009, the Bachelor of Arts in Law Enforcement (BA. Law Enforcement) Programme was conceived and implemented. It now offers three Undergraduate Programmes. At the postgraduate level, the School offers a Specialized Postgraduate Diploma in Law (SPGDL), Master of Laws (LL.M), Taught Master of Laws, Master of Arts in Revenue Law and Administration and Master of Intellectual Property. It also offers the Doctor of Philosophy degree.

In terms of administrative arrangement, the School has three Departments, which superintend the various courses offered. These are the Departments of Public Law, Private Law and Economic Law. It hosts the Legal Aid Committee (LAC) and the Tanzania German Center for Eastern Africa Legal Studies (TGCL). The Dean is the overall Head and is assisted by Heads of the Departments, Coordinators and Administrative Officers. The overall decision-making organ is the Board of the School. The Collegium, an advisory organ of the Dean and School Board comprises of Heads of Departments, Coordinators and select senior academic members of staff.

The information obtained on this website may not always be exhaustive and may be updated or changed without notice. With this caveat, it is my sincere hope that you will find this webpage handy and interesting. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you do not find what you are looking for, or in the event you need further clarification or particulars.

Dr.S. F.Materu

DEAN